A New Knitting Blog (just what we all need!)

Hello everyone! I know that, for now, “everyone” consists of me, my cat Molly, and a very reluctant boyfriend named Robert, but hello nonetheless! I’m Ally of GreenbugKnits.

You can find me on Ravelry as GreenbugsAlly, and Instagram as OhShoot.ItsAlly, but enough about other sites, lets get started on this one.

I am a beginner knitter in the truest sense. I picked up my first set of Michael’s purchased needles about five years ago, did three knit stitches and called it a wash. I took up knitting/crafting again with a fervor after really not enjoying myself the first time around about three months ago, and am hooked… oh puns.

I currently reside in the middle of nowhere Connecticut, but am “from” Brooklyn, NYC. There are quotes around that because I’m really from a bunch of places, but I chose to make New York my home for seven years, so for all intent and purposes, Bushwick, is in fact, home.

I don’t have a favorite colorway, or anything like that, but I can tell you honestly that I detest knitting in dark colors. As a former New Yorker, black and it’s close relatives and I are well acquainted. In fact, I’d venture to say that 80% of my closet consists of blacks, so any pieces I knit to accent my wardrobe are to compliment my beautiful darks, not add to the drab. I also find that as a beginner, it is difficult for me to see and correct my errors in darker colors, and I’m sure with time I’ll develop an appreciation for those rich tones, but for now I will knit with all the unicorn poop skeins I can find.

I don’t know that this will turn into anything serious, or even if I’ll keep up with it, but if you’ve stumbled upon this, thanks for checking it out! I look forward to seeing where this drunken decision leads.

Current WIPs:

The Sunshine Shawl for Sad People by Sylvia Bo Bilvia (Jubilee Yarn Bamboo Wool in 983; Karbonz US size 5) Originally cast on April 27, 2015 Progress: 20%

Flying North Socks by Maria Montzka (Plymouth Happy Feet in Crayon; Addi Sock Rockets US size 1) Originally cast on April 19, 2015. Progress: ONE SOCK COMPLETED!

Leave a Reply

